An Award (!) in Applied Arts Photo Annual 2013 – Landscape Series

MaunaLoaCabinPano_web

Keep your eyes peeled for the May/June issue of Applied Arts Magazine, which will include my series of panoramas from Mauna Loa for this year’s photography and illustration awards!

You can see the announcement here: http://www.appliedartsmag.com/blog/?p=12476

This unassuming summit cabin, perched at a dizzying 14,000 feet, was the last stop on our hike up the volcano. Though altitude sickness was dragging us to our bunks, I managed to squeak out a few shots at dusk. Alas, I will forever kick myself for neglecting to capture the stars. The Hawaiian skies are so clear that neighbouring Mauna Kea is home to the twin-mirrored, big daddy Keck, the biggest optical telescope in the world.

So I didn’t brave the cold that night, but in the morning I made it up to myself and – finally! – donned the lavish gown I had lugged up the volcano, having lacked the self discipline not to indulge in a thrift sale before the hike. It was only two dollars I could tell it needed a vacation.

3 thoughts on “An Award (!) in Applied Arts Photo Annual 2013 – Landscape Series

Leave a Reply

